So bored, forced to get lost in sexy books like The Chapman Report and The Carpetbaggers

August 10, 1964, Monday. Read the “Chapman Report” REAL GOOD!

Didn’t do anything all day or night, just went up to Lauri’s and looked at her 7th grade yearbook. Saw Jack, Bryan, Craig and Phil. I couldn’t believe how they looked back then. I started reading the “Chapman Report” and couldn’t stop reading it. You wouldn’t believe that book. It’s so dirty. I stayed up until 2:00 in the morning reading about the sex life of six housewives. It told every detail of their bedroom life. Think I’ll read the “Carpetbaggers” next. I’ve gotten so bored that now I have to read dirty books for excitement and they just get me mad and hate men…Animals!

saffrons rule Chapman Report

Based on the “Kinsey Reports” where Dr. Alfred Kinsey conducted interviews with thousands of men and women on their sexual habits, Irving Wallace’s blockbuster novel “The Chapman Report” concerns the interviewing of a number of society ladies from a community in California known only as “The Briars”. These interviews, intended to extract data for a book on the sexual habits of married women, lead the reader on a trail through the lives and loves of several very different women, and the men in their lives. 

saffrons rule Carpetbaggers

)THE CARPETBAGGERS (1964). The film is such an outrageous mix of Hollywood melodrama, pop psychology and salacious sleaze that it’s fun in a gruesome sort of way. It’s an adaptation of a novel by Harold Robbins, which is one of the best-selling novels of all time, and the movie was also a huge hit (even though it’s much less explicit ;-)). The characters are based on famous movie people of the ’30s (eg Howard Hughes, Jean Harlow, Tom Mix and Joan Crawford).

Be sure to visit my Beautiful Maybelline Book Blog at http://www.maybellinebook.com/

Advertisements

About saffronsrule

Sharrie Williams is the author of The Maybelline Story and a direct descendant of the Maybelline Cosmetic Family. Great niece of Maybelline founder Tom Lyle Williams. Buy a signed copy today.
This entry was posted in 1960's Surf Culture, 1964 High School Diary, Chick Secrets, Maybelline Girl, memoir, REALITY BLOG, Southern California 1964, teenage reality blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s